Board Members

  • President            Yasushi Asami (Univ. of Tokyo)
  • Vice-President   Keiji Yano (Ritsumeikan Univ.)

Board of Directors

Information is available in Japanese.


  • Shigeru Ito (Univ. of Tokyo Emeritus)
  • Masao Iri (Univ. of Tokyo Emeritus)
  • Toshio Edamura (Setsunan Univ. Emeritus)
  • Hideo Nakamura (Inst. of Transport Policy Studies / Musashi Inst. of Technology)
  • Osamu Nishikawa (Univ. of Tokyo Emeritus)
  • Masao Sakauchi (National Institute of Information)
  • Michio Nogami (Tokyo Metropolitan Univ. Emeritus)

Past Presidents & Vice-Presidents

Term of officePresidentVice-President
1991/11/30 - 1994/3/31Shigeru ItohToshirou Edamura
1994/4/1 - 1996/3/31Masao IriMichio Nogami
1996/4/1 - 1998/3/31Michio NogamiAtsuyuki Okabe
1998/4/1 - 2000/3/31Atsuyuki OkabeHiroyuki Kohsaka
2000/4/1 - 2002/3/31Hiroyuki KohsakaTeruko Usui
2002/4/1 - 2004/3/31Teruko UsuiEtsuo Yamamura
2004/4/1 - 2006/3/31Etsuo YamamuraYuji Murayama
2006/4/1 - 2008/3/31Yuji MurayamaRyosuke Shibasaki
2008/4/1 - 2010/5/15Ryosuke ShibasakiShin Yoshikawa
2010/5/15 - 2012/5/19Shin YoshikawaYasushi Asami 
2012/5/19 -Yasushi AsamiKeiji Yano 



cover:PublicationsGISA publishes Theory and Applications of GIS and Papers and Proceedings of the Geographic Information Systems Association of Japan.

GISA Office
Gakkai Center Bld.
4-267, Yayoi 2-chome, Bunkyo-ku
Tokyo 113-0032, Japan
Geographic Information Systems Association Secretariat [Tel/Fax] +(81)-3-5689-7955